ARC, Book Review, Books

The Rival – Megan Green

41839552

I love her. But she loves him.

I’d known Avery Grant was the one for me from the moment she bossed me around on the playground. After over a decade of friendship, I’m still biding my time, waiting for the moment she realizes everything she’s ever wanted is standing right in front of her. 

Then one white envelope sends my world spiraling.
A wedding invitation, announcing Avery’s engagement to the one man who could never deserve her: Miles Johnson.

Miles is the worst kind of human — and my biggest rival. Everything I can do, he thinks he can do better, including being the best rookie pitcher the MLB has seen in decades. But if he makes her happy, who am I to interfere?

But when Avery shows up on my doorstep, devastated and heartbroken by Miles’s betrayal, I can’t help but open my doors for her. 

The timing is all wrong, but I won’t miss my shot. 
This time, I refuse to strike out.

I’d like to thank Give Me Books promotions for sending me an e-arc of this book it is very much appreciated. I love Megan Green’s books I read The Off-Season and The Cleanup and I loved them and thought they were great and I couldn’t wait for.

I felt so bad for Carter having unrequited love for Avery. I loved Carter he was so sweet and would literally drop everything for Avery and to just take care of her. I love it. Carter and Avery had so much chemistry like why did they not get together sooner?!

I love the fact that Avery openly admits to the fact that she wants to be a wife I thought that was very interesting. I liked to see that in a character because with all that is happening about women working and not being the homemaker which I thought was interesting. I loved that about her and that she openly admitted all she wanted was to be a wife and a mother.

I really did not like Miles from the moment we saw him in this book he was sleezy af. I also turned out to be right so yes!

I loved the baby shark mentioned.

I also love when Avery finally realises that Carter loves her, it’s such a good scene in the book one of my favourites.

I felt like the drama in this book between Avery and Carter were for the sake of drama, to split them up so they could back together and I just didn’t like that at all. I thought there was a better time for it to happen like at the game rather than keeping a separate thing afterwards. It felt drama was for the sake of drama.

I loved the proposal going back to where it all started. I loved it. It was so cute.

Leave a comment