ARC, Book Review, Books

After The End – Natasha Preston

41081436. sx318
One fatal mistake changes Tilly and Linc’s lives forever.

After the tragedy, Linc and his family fled a town they were no longer welcome in.

Still grieving the death of her brother, Tilly’s world is rocked again when, three years later, Lincoln Reid has to come home.

Linc tries to stay away from Tilly, but once he sees her fighting feelings for him, he can’t stay in the shadows. 

I’d like to thank Natasha Preston for sending me an e-arc of this it is very much appreciated! Like always not the first book I’ve read from her, I’ve read Silence, Broken Silence, and most importantly Reliving Fate. Natasha Preston has a tough job to please me after Reliving Fate. and I have to say that is my bar for standards and it’s going to be very hard to meet. (It wasn’t met by the way).

I really enjoyed this book, it was very difficult sometimes to read as you could feel how much pain Lincoln and Tilly were in when she was pushing him away and the fact her brother’s death was in between them. I had so many mixed emotions when reading this and gosh Tilly. She was in so much pain and she was so torn I felt bad for her. She was so in love with Lincoln she didn’t even realise when she was. The minute he rolled back into town I could tell she had the feelings for him and pushing him away and then falling for him all at the same time must have been horrible. Some of my favourite scenes with Tilly is when she goes to the graveyard to talk to her Robbie’s grave and although he was dead she still wanted to talk to her brother.

Lincoln changed a lot after the accident where Robbie was killed. He stopped drinking because of what happened and it was a big event and he didn’t want to drink anymore. I loved it and the scenes where he went to talk to Robbie at the graveyard were so sweet. The fact he was trying to just give her the space she had asked for and to try and not hurt her parents and her by seeing him. He was so caring and just wanted to make it easier on them.

I loved the secondary characters in here, Jack, Ian, Hanna and Mel how they were just trying to bring Lincoln and Tilly together again it was really cute and the fact that even in those small moments she didn’t feel guilty for it. Tilly always felt guilt for her feelings for Lincoln and I felt so bad and I was so glad when she started to get over them and just live for herself. I loved the playfulness between Lincoln and Tilly it was the really simple moments and it was sweet.

I loved Tilly and her mum talking and confiding about Lincoln especially when Tilly was trying to tell her that she had feelings for him. It was really sweet.

I cried. I feel like that was probably a given I did.

Stanley is an asshole.

I loved the story, I loved the plot and I loved the characters but overall I was comparing it to how I felt about Reliving Fate and as I said before every book has to live up or surpass that which is hard to do.

Leave a comment