ARC, Book Review, Books

Blood Captive – Jessica Wayne

55453298. sy475

She was the hunter. Now, she’s the prey.
Detective Rainey Astor has run headfirst into danger for as long as she can remember. Her trip to Salem was no different, and although she and Elijah are back in Billings, nothing could have prepared them for the repercussions they will face upon their return home.
Determined to get back to normal despite the fact that everything’s changed, Rainey dives back into work at the same time bodies of dead witches start popping up all over town. Their ritualistic style murders scream sacrifice, but there’s something darker at work, something far more sinister than Rainey or Elijah could have anticipated.
As someone begins beckoning to Rainey from the shadows, drawing her closer and closer into their web, she unearths a horrible truth that will alter her irrevocably. And soon she will discover, not even Elijah can shield her from what’s to come.
Picking up from Blood Hunt’s explosive cliffhanger ending, Blood Captive turns the tables for Rainey and Elijah as they go from being the hunters to the hunted.

This series is perfect for fans of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood, Lynsay Sands Argeneau Novels, Linsey Hall’s Shadow Guild, L.J. Smith’s The Vampire Diaries, or the TV show The Originals.

Grab your copy of Blood Captive and pick up right where you left off with this addicting Vampire Paranormal Romance series!

If you haven’t read the first book Blood Hunt you really shouldn’t be reading the review for this one because you will be spoiled. I’d like to thank Jessica Wayne for sending me an e-arc of this book it is very much appreciated. Since reading Phoenix I have become hooked on this author’s writing and series and I am not yet disappointed by this.

So we start off straight back into the action and into the crazy world of Rainey and Elijah this book set me in a spin. There was so much in this book that I did not see coming and I’m kind of mad that I didn’t see it coming but on the other hand I loved that I didn’t see it coming. I was shocked like nearly thrown off my seat shocked. I don’t even know where to start with this review without spoiling things. I’ll try my best if there is any spoilers I will warn you.

Rainey and Elijah’s relationship are so cute, and I love that we get to see them train together and be together and honestly I ship it. So hard. I really liked the connection these characters had also that fact that Elijah hid a certain thing from Rainey and he thought it was a good idea. Also Men. Like I don’t understand his logic for not telling her the thing. Like as soon as it was said I was like damn girl going to be well pissed.

The way the information is revealed to us is amazing, I loved the way Jessica does it, although at times I felt overloaded with everything going off it was all necessary for the pieces to fit where they needed to fit. The revelation of it all was done so well.

Also I love Tarnely. That needed to be said. I don’t think I mentioned him in the last review.

Also the scene with a siren jealous Elijah is kinda hot.

Jane. I love Jane. She’s such a good egg.

That’s pretty much all I can say without delving some major plot twists and turns, just know they are all amazing and I didn’t even see any of it coming and that cliffhanger I just I did not see it coming. Like it was so good. I am hooked on these books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s