ARC, Book Review, Books

Shameless King – Maya Hughes

39669992

A deliciously steamy enemies with benefits romance.

Declan McAvoy. Voted Biggest Flirt. Highest goal scorer in Kings of Rittenhouse Prep history. 
Everyone’s impressed, well except one person…

After a blow out in high school, Makenna Halstead and I were happy to never have to cross paths again. Except life has a way of knocking you straight in the teeth with a puck when you least expect it. She hasn’t just returned to my life, she crashed into it like a wrecking ball…into my college kingdom, into my class, and smack dab into the seat next to mine. My new lab partner to be exact. 

For years we hated each other… I may be King on the ice, but she is the Ice Queen. She has no problem calling me out, doesn’t back down, and her piercing blue eyes have me picturing more than than just my arms wrapped around her. 

Now we’re stuck with each other and there’s no getting around that fact that we have to work together. My hockey career hangs in the balance. Problem? Oh, yeah.

I can’t deny it. I want her. More than I ever thought I could want a woman. I’ve got one semester–only four months–to convince her everything she thought about me was wrong. 

Will my queen let me prove to her I’m the King she can’t live without? 

Only one way to find out…

I’d like to thank Maya Hughes for sending me an e-arc of this book it is very much appreciated. This review was meant to be up ages ago but I’m only just getting around to it! So sorry about that! But into the review!

I loved Makenna and the more I read of the story the more I fell in love with her character. The way she dealt with things and when you discover something you begin to understand why she acts and feels so cold and tries to do the best. I don’t want to tell you because it’s better if you read it! Either way, I understood the reason Makenna was so focused. I also enjoyed when Declan began to get her to begin to have fun I loved that side of Makenna too.

Declan he was an interesting character especially as we just saw Makenna thinking he was dumb when it came to working yet he was just as focused as her especially because he needed to pass. I loved his character and even more when he began to open up to Makenna. It did make me laugh because the first time they had sex because Makenna left him in bed alone, it was so funny to actually see his insecurity. It was a different side to him and I liked seeing it.

Despite coming to love Declan and Makenna it really did take me a while to actually like them, I think when they both started opening up to each other, that was the moment I began to actually like the characters. But once I did I loved them so much!

I loved Heath, Preston, Colm, Ford and Emmett, I loved their friendship that they all had. I love the bond that they all had for each other. ALSO! My one question throughout this whole book is what happened between Avery and Emmett! I really need to know what happened! When I read the prequel and there bust up I really wanted to know why! I hope we get a book explaining!

Also, I really liked Declan standing up to his dad, it was a long time coming! When he did it I was like yes. It’s about time!

I really enjoyed the plot and the storyline! It kept me hooked all the way through and I honestly can’t wait to read Heath’s book! The writing was great and it kept me immersed in the story! It was honestly such a great book!

2 thoughts on “Shameless King – Maya Hughes”

Leave a comment