Book Review, Books

Ravaged River – Lindsay Cross

29995452
Special forces operative Hoyt Crowe wasn’t just damaged… he was broken. After suffering brutal torture in captivity, his once lively spirit is shattered. Now his greatest adversary isn’t some unknown terrorist in a foreign country, it’s himself. 
Hayden James watched Hoyt slide into a private purgatory of post-traumatic stress disorder, taking her heart with him. No longer warm and loving, he is cold. Hardened. A shell of his former self. 
When an old enemy threatens Hayden’s life, Hoyt must find the strength to slay his inner demons or lose the woman he loves forever. 

So I went down a deep hole of Lindsay Cross (I feel like I start all of these reviews like that lol). So I’ve read Redemption RiverResurrection RiverReckless River and Rebellious River and I loved all them so I knew this one was going to be no different! Again I love the dossier that is at the beginning of this book so you know who is who and you aren’t lost in the world that is the Men of Mercy series! This one picks up just a few months (I think) after Reckless River and we carry on with Hoyt’s story.

This story was darker in terms of I think for the first time we get to see like the real effect of PTSD more so than the other books. Those PTSD feelings were very strong and god they made me feel terrible and so heartbroken and I could feel how Hayden felt when she tried to pull Hoyt out of his PTSD and I honestly think with these stories you know she does her research and that she is one of the people who have family in the military and she interacts with others. I think she so did it justice and it was amazing.

Hoyt I just wanted to give him a hug through this PTSD aside he was in a whole of self-pity (understandable of course) and he was just so far gone that he really struggled with this new version of himself. I loved how regardless of how he felt about himself he was always willing to protect Hayden.

Hayden man I felt bad for her after the shit she went through with Shane and then the stuff she was going through with Hoyt I just wanted to wrap her in bubble wrap and keep her safe. I liked the insight we got in this book about her and Shane and how she felt about it and how Hoyt helped her with those feelings. I loved it. I feel like we saw a different side of Hayden in this which I’m glad.

I loved Merc and Hunter and actually, I just loved them all these characters just make you want to stay in this world and keep coming back I think I’m going to be very sad when I finish reading all of these because what am I going to do?

Hayden is so damn stubborn and I loved that about her, how she wasn’t willing to give up on Hoyt and she knew their feelings for each other would win both of these babies need a big massive hug.

One of my favourite scenes is when Hoyt tells Hayden what he thought of when he was being tortured that even in the darkness she was his light and I loved that.

I also love that Hoyt let Jared back in and they were acting like real brothers again and they made up. (Wow I wonder how many times I said loved in these reviews).

The action scenes were written fabulously! I loved this story so much and it hit me more than the others did in terms of feelings I was sobbing all the way through this book it was amazing.

7 thoughts on “Ravaged River – Lindsay Cross”

Leave a comment