ARC, Book Review, Books

Innocent Eyes – Charlotte E. Hart & Rachel De Lune

“If he’s gross, I’m bailing.”
That’s what I said to my supposed best friend when she asked me to take her place. A blind date, she said. What harm could it do?
He was charming. Beautiful. God’s finest creation. He wined me and dined me. Made me do things I’d never before dreamt of in the bedroom. It was perfect. Dangerous. Arousing.
But she didn’t tell me the full story. She didn’t tell me about the debt she owed.
And now Quinn Cane wants his money’s worth, and he’s going to make me pay whatever way he can.

“A debt needs to be paid.”
The woman who came to meet me didn’t owe me money. I could tell by her innocent eyes. Still, the debt will be paid either way.
She was something to play with and use as I saw fit, but something about Emily Brooks made me want to keep her. So she became my dirty girl.
Pure. Innocent. Mine.
Then she whispered my damned name and invaded my world, changing its reasoning.
She wasn’t meant to break the rules. But she rolled my dice and won.

Shame. Forgiveness. Dark. Erotic. Romance.
This book is intended for mature audiences. 18+ only.

I’d like to thank Bare Naked Words for sending me an e-arc of this book it is very much appreicated. I signed up for this arc because the description looked interesting, and at the time I was kind of craving a dark romance and that is exactly what I got with this story. A dark romance. It’s a very fast paced read I managed to read it in one sitting. The book is told in duo point of view by Quinn and Emily. It really helped the storyline being duo point of view because we got to see both sides of these characters.

I really loved the plot it kept me hooked and intrigued all the way through, I didn’t really guess where the story was going and I did not know if they’d end up together or not. Or whether he’d have any redemption at the end of the novel. Or if it would change her. I loved the mafia aspect of the novel and that we did see both of these characters getting their hands dirty.

I really liked Quinn’s character he didn’t blame his parents for his shit behaviour he did blame them for the fact he had to run the business for his family, mainly because if it wasn’t him it would have to have been one of his younger brothers and he didn’t want that for his little brother. He was a dick, his behaviour although at times he could be nice to Emily he could be a complete dickhead to her. Some of the situations he put her in like with the Russians I believe it was and she nearly got raped because of him of course he saved her in the last moment but if it wasn’t for him she wouldn’t be in that situation. That being said, I liked him although he was a dickhead.

Emily, see I liked her but I thought she was very very stupid. She got herself into some of the stupidest situations that could have been avoided. Although she got the strength when she needed it otherwise she was very submissive and at times weak. She was very trust worthy and it was also misplaced throughout the whole novel.

I had a few issues with this novel, obviously it was dark romance so I knew it was going to be shitty behaviour to some extent. My problem was is that is all it was we didn’t see much outside the love life between him and her. We knew of Jenny who is a complete and utter twat who betrays Emily, and we know she has a photography business but other than that we don’t really know much. We don’t see Emily really interacting with other people in her life and there’s not really any positive friendships shown either which is sad. Other than that I really enjoyed reading this novel.

5 thoughts on “Innocent Eyes – Charlotte E. Hart & Rachel De Lune”

Leave a comment