ARC, Book Review, Books

The Murder Game – Julie Apple

For fans of The Secret History and How to Get Away With Murder comes an exciting new voice in suspense fiction.

Ten years working as a prosecutor have left Meredith Delay jaded and unsure of what she wants out of life. She’s good at her job, but it haunts her. Her boyfriend wants her to commit, but she keeps him at arm’s length. Then Meredith is assigned to a high-profile prosecution involving the violent murder of a fallen hockey star. At first, it appears to be just another case to work. But when her old friend Julian is accused of the murder, it takes on a whole new dimension.

Meredith, Julian, Jonathan, and Lily were a tight-knit group in law school. But now, Jonathan’s defending Julian, and Lily’s loyalties aren’t clear. And when Julian invokes a rare—and risky—defense, Meredith is forced to confront their past.

Has something they played at as students finally been brought to death?

Oh my god this book it sent me on a rollercoaster whirlwind honestly I have so many mixed feelings for this book but it was amazing that is for sure! I have never read anything like this the story took me in so many different directions and I for sure did not guess the ending. I didn’t even see it coming, it slapped me in the face. I was guessing until the very last page and even then I still didn’t guess it right.

The author’s writing is so easy to read. This book was not an easy read your brain has to be switched on and you have to actively read a story like this. I liked how the novel was set out in 3 parts. We had the past shown from when they were in law school to the present with the case in court. The author had very much done her research for this story and was very well informed it made the story even more enjoyable.

Now I look at it I really should have guessed what was going to happen by the name of this book like it’s kind of obvious now I think about it but I didn’t. You are thrown from direction to direction and it was truly amazing how it was done. Once you thought for definite the story was going in one direction it would turn and go in a different direction it was honestly done so well that even when there was another twist or turn it wasn’t annoying. It wasn’t like “oh my not another” it just worked. The way information is delivered in this story too is nice there is no information dumping and we learn things when we need to know them not a moment before or a moment after. It really kept you in the the book.

I only had one problem with this book and that was I didn’t feel like we had gotten the full story out of Jonathon and Meredith’s relationship we learned bits and pieces but we never learn the full story. At least I didn’t manage to get the full story from them which was really sort of frustrating because I wanted to know more about these character dynamics and I didn’t get that from this.

What was good was how complex each of these characters were Meredith, Lily, Jonathon and Julian there was so much more to them than what we saw and I really liked the characters, it’s been a while since I have read characters as good as these and I am glad that I did read this book because it was interesting how we learned about each of these characters.

4 stars

1 thought on “The Murder Game – Julie Apple”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s